Green gully

Acknowledgement of Ngurra

The City of the Blue Mountains is located within the Ngurra (Country) of the Dharug and Gundungurra peoples. Blue Mountains City Council recognises that Dharug and Gundungurra Traditional Owners have a continuous and deep connection to their Country and that this is of great cultural significance to Aboriginal people, both locally and in the region.

Located on the western fringe of the Greater Sydney Region, the City of Blue Mountains is one of only two cities in the world surrounded by a UNESCO declared World Heritage National Park Area. Our City is perfectly positioned to explore ways to care for our planet’s natural systems and share these solutions globally.

With a spectacular setting, the Blue Mountains is home to a community of nearly 80,000 people living in 27 towns and villages located over 100km of mountainous terrain. Managing an area of such spectacular natural beauty and cultural importance, is both a privilege and a unique responsibility. 

Blue Mountains City Council recognises its stewardship responsibility in managing this ECO City sustainably, within a landscape of globally significant biodiversity.

Get more information